Launched in 2011, Google+ has been expected to be the company’s answer to Facebook using a range of similar capabilities. But, it did not gain much traction through the years. Even though Google+ will cease to exist in April 2, 2019, the company now says it’s going to start removing a few of the attributes as early as February 4. Google has outlined the deadline when and which features will be taken offline first and how Google+ users may download their data.
On a new service page posted on Monday, Google states from February 4 it will stop enabling users create brand new Google+ profiles, pages, events or communities. Google+ community owners and moderators can download their data beginning early March 2019. This information will include author information, content body, and photos published in a public community on Google+.
Google will delete all of user data. In the event you archived photos and videos from Google+, then they will be deleted as well. In case you have a lot of info resting on Google+ servers, make sure you download and save it nicely before April 2.
However, Google asserts the process of deleting consumer Google+ data are going to take a few months. Content posted on Google+ may remain visible throughout this time. The business says users may nonetheless be able to view activity logs and some consumer Google+ articles may also be observable through G Suite.
On the new support page, Google still claims the company had made a decision to kill Google+ because of low use and”challenges involved in maintaining a successful product.” However, a bug was discovered a year which exposed user data of 500,000 users. Google still maintains no developer had exploited the vulnerability and the company hasn’t been able to locate any abuse of this information.